100 Years of Loss – Thoughts and Reactions

Standard

While I was visiting the 100 Years of Lost exhibit at the Fifth Parallel – University of Regina, I found myself shaking my head at what I was reading.  Through reading the exhibit, I thought to myself that the name really lends to the exhibit as there really has been 100 years of loss for Aboriginal, Metis, and Inuit peoples living in Canada.  As I left the exhibit, I started to wonder how the debt could be repayed, however, in thinking about this, I thought that Canada has been taking necessary action to repair this relationship and that it may not be possible to ever completely repair the damage that some people have faced regarding residential schools in Canada.  I think that as white people, who were not around when these things were going on, we should not have to put the blame on ourselves for what happened.  As a result of this, I think it is very important to teach treaty education in schools in an effort to inform students of the marginalization that occurred in Canada’s history.  While I do not think students should take ownership for anything that happened, I do think that they need to know and understand the history, so they can understand the people who are living around them and in cities with them.  It is not only their history, but it is our history too.  The exhibit was vivid and creating pictures in my head that I have never had before when I had learned about this content.  I think the exhibit is successful in creating and outlining the information of what happened, and what it in terms that everyone can understand.  I enjoyed the exhibit very much and would recommend that anyone who has a chance to wander through should take it.

About herback

I am a fourth year education student, studying at the University of Regina. I have a major in English and a minor in Inclusive Education. following the completion of my BEd, I will be staying at the University to complete my Inclusive Education certificate. I have hopes in the future to work as an SST to support students with varying abilities.

Leave a Reply

