Labels

Standard

I am a white, female, who was raised in the middle class.  While I am these things, and I know that they do shape who I am, they had no effect of my choice to become a teacher.  It seems as though throughout this class we have been told not to categorize and label people and now we are asked to label ourselves.

Although I did not address these labels in my autobiography, I think I still completed the assignment as per the instructions of my seminar leader.  While I did not address these things directly, I believe if you look critically beyond what is said, you could find these answers for yourself.

I do not see it as ‘problematic’ that this was not specifically stated in my assignment.  The assignment was to write about WHY you wanted to become a teacher, not the TYPE of teacher you are going to be and the things that shape you into that teacher.  I am not there yet.  I do not know how these things are going to shape me as a teacher.  I believe these things will come and we do not need to search for them.

I am looking forward to becoming a teacher and learning and understanding how these things will shape me as the teacher I am going to be someday.  I think we cannot know yet how these things will alter our teaching.  I also think that it is extremely hard for us to discuss how we would react to these hypothetical situations that we may see in our classrooms.  We need to be in the moment and it will come as it may.  As for now, I do not believe we can make these assumptions and generalizations that we as students are going to ignore this.  It will come.

About herback

I am a fourth year education student, studying at the University of Regina. I have a major in English and a minor in Inclusive Education. following the completion of my BEd, I will be staying at the University to complete my Inclusive Education certificate. I have hopes in the future to work as an SST to support students with varying abilities.

2 responses »

  1. You make valid points throughout this post. I especially like it when you state that we as teachers cannot fully know yet how these topics will alter our classrooms or teaching. However, how do you think you will be treated in a school or classroom with those labels?

  2. I think that this will be very dependent on the students in my class. As I have been thinking about this question, the more I want to say no, these labels will not affect the way I will be treated by my students. I think the only thing that these labels may come through on is the teaching of specific lessons. For example, as Claire mentioned in her treaty education lecture, she was a white woman teaching about the First Nations to Aboriginal students. I would expect this to present itself in this type of context, however, I am hoping this will not affect the way I am treated in the daily school.

Leave a Reply

