The Life and Times of Taylor Herback

Standard

My name is Taylor Herback. My family includes my mom, dad and my older brother. Family is very important to me, and is my biggest support system. Thanks to my parents, I was instilled with a strong work ethic and became very involved in my community at a young age.

DSCN0251

I grew up in Eston, Saskatchewan, and graduated from Eston Composite School. I lived there until I moved to Regina to purse a degree in Education at the University of Regina. I am currently in the fourth year of my B.Ed. degree, pursuing a major in English and a minor in Inclusive Education. My love for the teaching profession is fueled by inclusion. I believe that all students have the right to learn and grow together. Following the completion of my Education degree, I plan to complete a fifth year of university gaining my Inclusive Education after degree certificate. With this, it is my hope that I will be able to acquire a job as a Student Support Teacher.

Working with students with special needs is something that I have become very passionate about. Growing up with a mom in the resource room was a big influence for me. From my first university placement, when I was assigned to a Functionally Academic Integrated Program (FIAP) classroom, I knew that I had found something that got me very excited with the possibilities and something I knew I wanted to do for the rest of my life. After completing this placement, I was in love. Working with students with varying abilities is very rewarding and I have high hopes that will become my career one day.

In my spare time (which is usually few and far between) I enjoying spending time with family.  There is no better weekend than going to the cabin and spending the weekend with family.  I also, while at the cabin, enjoy long walks on the beach. 🙂 In addition to that, I love scrapbooking; I have been scrapbooking since I was about 14.  Since coming to university and having limited time and space, I have not been able to enjoy the hobby as I used to, I hope to get back to it soon.  Another way to spend spare time is in the kitchen; I love cooking and baking for my family and friends.  I am always trying out new things in order to expand my ‘repertoire!’  I am pretty much a clean freak, so while I do not love cleaning, it seems like I’m always doing it in my spare time, so it gets into this category by default.  Also, I love outside; We do not live in a place where we get to spend very much time outdoors and so I find myself working at outdoor jobs in the summer, just so I can soak up as much of the two nice months of the year as possible!

When available and implemented correctly, technology can be a wonderful tool in the classroom.  Technology is infinite, there are so many different things that you can use and many ways that it can be useful to teach.  One way of the ways in which I have seen technology implemented successfully is in the area of inclusive education.  There is such an array of programs and wonderful apps that can be so helpful for students with varying abilities.  Seeing a student understand something because it was read to them and not them reading it is such a rewarding experience.  In that way, I have seen the immense success technology can bring students.  As far as whole class technology, I have not seen much other than SmartBoards in the classroom.  I would like to learn more about this and how I can incorporate technology fluently into daily classroom life.

About herback

I am a fourth year education student, studying at the University of Regina. I have a major in English and a minor in Inclusive Education. following the completion of my BEd, I will be staying at the University to complete my Inclusive Education certificate. I have hopes in the future to work as an SST to support students with varying abilities.

Leave a Reply

