DSC_1027

I grew up in Eston, Saskatchewan, and graduated from Eston Composite School. I lived there until I moved to Regina to purse a degree in Education at the University of Regina. I am currently in the fourth year of my B.Ed. degree, pursuing a major in English and a minor in Inclusive Education. My love for the teaching profession is fueled by inclusion. I believe that all students have the right to learn and grow together. Following the completion of my Education degree, I plan to complete a fifth year of university gaining my Inclusive Education after degree certificate. With this, it is my hope that I will be able to acquire a job as a Student Support Teacher.

Working with students with special needs is something that I have become very passionate about. Growing up with a mom in the resource room was a big influence for me. From my first university placement, when I was assigned to a Functionally Academic Integrated Program (FIAP) classroom, I knew that I had found something that got me very excited with the possibilities and something I knew I wanted to do for the rest of my life. After completing this placement, I was in love. Working with students with varying abilities is very rewarding and I have high hopes that will become my career one day.

In my spare time (which is usually few and far between) I enjoying spending time with family.  There is no better weekend than going to the cabin and spending the weekend with family.  I also, while at the cabin, enjoy long walks on the beach. 🙂 In addition to that, I love scrapbooking; I have been scrapbooking since I was about 14.  Since coming to university and having limited time and space, I have not been able to enjoy the hobby as I used to, I hope to get back to it soon.  Another way to spend spare time is in the kitchen; I love cooking and baking for my family and friends.  I am always trying out new things in order to expand my ‘repertoire!’  I am pretty much a clean freak, so while I do not love cleaning, it seems like I’m always doing it in my spare time, so it gets into this category by default.  Also, I love outside; We do not live in a place where we get to spend very much time outdoors and so I find myself working at outdoor jobs in the summer, just so I can soak up as much of the two nice months of the year as possible!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s